An interactive online talk on working with human rights in practice at local level

#MRRtalk is a series of interactive talk events hosted online to share practitioners’ perspectives on working with the human rights to water and sanitation. Each talk features a half-hour discussion among the speakers, followed by an interactive part for listeners to share experiences and ask questions.

Episode 2: Spotlight on strategies

Have you ever thought that human rights might be too confrontational for you to use? Or that civil society needs to confront government more? Or both? There is of course no single right answer to these questions. The right strategy depends on the context, the people and the organisations involved.

Listen to the recording of #MRRtalk episode 2 “Spotlight on strategies”. In this episode of #MRRtalk, we will explore different strategies that civil society organisations are using to push government institutions to realise water and sanitation services for all.

#MRRtalk will be live on zoom. No account or registration needed. You can join using the zoom client or a web browser (click “Join from Your browser” for this option).

Our guests:

partha_talk2
Partha Sarathi Kuntal, Programme Coordinator, WASH SDG Programme at DORP in Bangladesh. He will share experiences with constructively engaging local government officials, combined with community based monitoring.
alana_talk2
Alana Potter, incoming International Coordinator of End Water Poverty. Based in South Africa, she will share stories of legal activism spanning from community mobilisation to protest and strategic litigation.

And you! Join the live talk to share your experiences or questions.

The first #MRRtalk will be live on 15 September at 9am GMT | 11am CEST | 12noon EAT | 2.30pm IST | 4pm ICT

Episode 1: Get ready for human rights work

Just about everyone knows water and sanitation are human rights. And most people working in civil society organisations think these rights are somehow important to their work. But many wonder how they can work with human rights in practice.

Listen to the recording of this first ever Make Rights Real talk (#MRRtalk) for a lively discussion on practical steps civil society organisations have taken to work with human rights, and how this has helped them to achieve impact.

Our guests:

bikash

Bikash Kumar Pati, Programme Coordinator at WaterAid India. In this Make Rights Real talk, he explains the story of JEETA, the Joint Endeavour for Emancipation Training and Action for Women. JEETA works with marginalised communities in rural Odisha, India.

malesi
Malesi Shivaji is the CEO of KEWASNET, the Kenyan network of WASH sector civil society organisations. As an advocate and civil society leader, he has seen first hand how civil society organisations have changed to get ready for human rights work.

The Make Rights Real talk format

Each Make Rights Real talk takes one hour and has two parts: In a podcast-like discussion, speakers from civil society organisations share their insights of working with human rights in the WASH sector. In the following call-in part, listeners can share experiences or ask questions. The first part is recorded and available for download as a podcast.

We currently have these talks planned:

Have an idea for a topic? Get in touch!